‘Neath Afghan Skies

‘Neath Afghan skies I lay my head

and dream of soft hazel dancing eyes.

Your sweet scent from my senses fled,

your gentle touch, a distant smile.

‘Neath Afghan skies I see you sleeping,

yet when I awake you are gone.

We share the same constellations fleeting

but countless miles see us alone.

The ceiling stares – a ticking clock

and still not calm to wistful sighs.

The shadows in the corner mock

while pictures play before my eyes.

I see across the dreaded hills,

the waves break on my home beach.

As winter blows its icy chill

your splendor smile just out of reach.

The passion that we often know.

The pleasure as our spirits ‘twined.

Breast to breast, a knowing glow –

our heart beats beat as one defined.

As slumber breaks, alone again

but images of you endure.

I hold them as my thoughts remain,

I save them in my mind secure.

‘Neath Afghan skies I write a while

and as I wish this night to fade

a soldier’s curse, a spouse’s trial

I wait for our reunion made.

Leave a Reply

